How many reindeer does Santa have in order to drive his sleigh and what are their names?

There are eight reindeer to help Santa Claus deliver the Christmas presents on the 24th of December night – and on time. Their origin came from a Christmas poem called A Visit From St Nicholas in 1807.

In the poem were eight reindeer named Dasher, Dancer, Prancer, Vixen, Comet, Cupid, Donner and Blitzen. It was not until 1939 would appear the most famous and the leader of the reindeer, Rudolph, thanks to the wonderful Christmas story from Robert L. May.

Their main features are:

Dasher: The speediest reindeer
Dancer: The most graceful reindeer
Prancer: The most powerful reindeer
Vixen: Powerful like Prancer as well
Comet: He brings happiness to children
Cupid: She brings love to children
Donner: He represents the thunder spirit
Blitzen: The lightning reindeer
Rudolph: He is the leader. He leads the sleigh thanks to his red luminous nose.



09/05/2013 20:42

Such a nice blog, I created an account here too.


Leave a Reply